OLD SAYBROOK POLICE COMMISSION

Special Meeting December 17, 2012 MINUTES

A special meeting of the Old Saybrook Police Commission was held on Monday, December 17, 2012, at the Old Saybrook Town Hall.

Present: Chairman Burnham, Vice Chairman Metsack, Commissioners Sparaco and Stuart were also present. Chief Spera and Lieutenant Roche were also present from the Department of Police Services.

I. Call to Order/Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Burnham called the meeting to order at 7:10PM and led the Police Commission in the Pledge of Allegiance.

II. Executive Session -

Interview and Discuss Candidates for the Position of Patrolman

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Metsack to enter into Executive Session for the purposes of interviewing and discussing candidates for the two funded Patrolman position. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Sparaco. The motion passed with a vote of 4 in favor and 0 against.

Chairman Burnham asked Chief Spera and Lieutenant Roche to stay and participate in the interviewing and discussion process.

The Police Commission entered into Executive Session at 7:15PM.

Patrolman candidate Andrew Brooks was invited into Executive Session at 7:23PM. Patrolman candidate Andrew Brooks exited Executive Session at 7:35PM.

Patrolman candidate Michael Mehrtens was invited into Executive Session at 7:37PM. Patrolman candidate Michael Mehrtens exited Executive Session at 7:47PM.

Patrolman candidate Eric Williams was invited into Executive Session at 7:50PM. Patrolman candidate Eric Williams exited Executive Session at 8:07PM.

Patrolman candidate Kyle Sandberg was invited into Executive Session at 8:09PM. Patrolman candidate Kyle Sandberg exited Executive Session at 8:33PM.

The Police Commission ended Executive Session at 9:09PM.

III. Discuss and Act on Appointments to the Position of Patrolman.

Filling two vacant, funded positions

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Metsack to hire Eric Williams for the first vacant Patrolman position pending the successful completion of a physical and designated for assignment at Chief Spera's discretion. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Stuart. The motion passed with a vote of 4 in favor and 0 against.

A motion was made by Commissioner Stuart to hire Michael Mehrtens for the second vacant Patrolman position pending the successful completion of a physical and designated for assignment at Chief Spera's discretion. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairman Metsack. The motion passed with a vote of 4 in favor and 0 against.

A motion was made by Commissioner Sparaco to establish a hiring list with one year viability for new Police Department recruits and to place Andrew Brooks at the top of the hiring list. Additionally, Commissioner Sparaco moved to authorize Chief Spera to hire directly from the established list for future Patrolman vacancies. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairman Metsack. The motion passed with a vote of 4 in favor and 0 against.

IV. Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was made by Vice Chairman Metsack. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Stuart. The motion passed with a vote of 4 in favor and 0 against.

The next regular Police Commission meeting is scheduled for January 28, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. in the First Floor Conference Room, Old Saybrook Town Hall.

The meeting minutes for December 17, 2012 were prepared and respectfully submitted by:

Trent Gerbers

Records Clerk for the Old Saybrook Police Commission